Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

I found out yesterday that you’re not supposed to eat gorgonzola, as well as a bunch of other cheeses, when you’re pregnant EVEN IF they are pasteurized.  I thought you just weren’t supposed to eat unpasteurized cheeses aged under a certain amount of time, so I’ve been happily gorging myself on many of these “forbidden” cheeses.  Oh well, no listeriosis symptoms so far.  Now that I knew not to eat them, I had to figure out what to do with the delicious gorgonzola in my refrigerator.  The article http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/nutrition/foodsafety/cheeseexpert/ said these cheeses were safe as long as they were well cooked to kill any listeria.  Enter today’s blog post: Gorgonzola Cream Sauce.

1 Tablespoon butter
1 Tablespoon flour
1 cup milk
50g gorgonzola dolce (creamy-ish, not crumbly)

Heat butter and flour over low heat and stir with a whisk until it just begins to turn golden, about 1-2 minutes.  Remove from heat.  Add the milk a little at a time, whisking constantly to keep lumps from forming.  Return pot to heat and stir occasionally while bringing milk back to a simmer.  Cut the gorgonzola into pieces and add it to the pot.  Stir until melted and bring back to a simmer.

Serve over pasta with plenty of freshly ground black pepper.

1/2 of this recipe was enough for me, but I like a lot of sauce.  Should serve 2-3 people.

If you aren’t pregnant, you can sprinkle some extra gorgonzola over the top.

One response to “Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

  1. Pingback: Potato Gnocchi | Barefoot and Pregnant in the Kitchen

Leave a comment