Potato Leek Soup

Potato Leek Soup

1 Tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1 Tablespoon butter
1 onion minced
3 cloves garlic minced
2 medium carrots small dice
2 medium stalks celery small dice
1/4 cup dry white wine
A bit of freshly grated nutmeg
Fresh ground black pepper
2 large leeks
2 yukon gold potatoes diced in 1/4-1/2 inch cubes
2 russet potatoes diced in 1/4-1/2 inch cubes
2 tsp. salt
Water
Whipping cream
Parsley

Put the olive oil and butter in a soup pot and turn to low heat.  Mince the onion

Soup base cooking in the pot

and add it to the pot, stirring as needed.  Then mince the garlic and add the diced carrots and celery.  Continue cooking and stirring until the onion and vegetables get soft.  Add 1/4 cup of white wine to the cooking vegetables, the nutmeg, and some black pepper.

Cut the leeks in half length-wise and then in 1/4 inch pieces in width, using only the white and light green parts.  Add the leeks to the pot.  Dice the potatoes into approximately 1/4-1/2 inch cubes and add them to the pot as well.  Add enough water to get the consistency of soup you want and 2 tsp. of salt.

Potato Leek Soup Cooking

Turn heat up until soup boils and then down to a simmer for 30-40 minutes, or

until cooked to taste.  Taste the soup and adjust the seasonings.

You can serve the soup like this, or I prefer to blend it either partially or fully.

Before serving, stir in whipping cream to taste and top with freshly chopped parsley and fresh ground black pepper.

Commentary:
This is the first time I’ve ever made this soup, so I was making it up as I went along.  I think it could have used more nutmeg than what I added and maybe more garlic and white wine than I have in the recipe.  That might depend on taste.  I think I added a bit too much water, because I would have liked a thicker soup than what I ended up with.  Also, I think blending it in the blender would have given the soup a creamier texture than the blending job by the immersion blender.  I’m thinking to try blending it in the blender before I serve it for dinner tonight, to see if I’m right about the texture.
Overall I think it has a really nice, though delicate, flavor.  I couldn’t keep myself from having seconds at lunch even though we’re having it for dinner tonight.

 

Update post-blending:
I blended the soup in the standing blender and it was a very different experience!  I liked it both ways, blended and not blended.  The blended version came out, as I had hoped, thick, smooth, and creamy.  In its blended state it was also very homogeneous, so it needed the freshness and variety that the parsley provided or it would have been too monotonous.  One option would be to remove a portion of the soup, blend it in the standing blender, and return it to the pot with the rest of the unblended soup.  I think this would probably be my choice with future soup, though I’ll have to try it to make sure.

One response to “Potato Leek Soup

  1. Mmm… can I have some? 🙂 Wish you lived closer so I could invite you over to cook for me!! Last night I did make something pretty yummy myself though so looking forward to lunch leftovers today. Kale & Tofu pilaf with indian spices!

Leave a Reply

