Garden pasta

Confronted with an ever-growing pile of tomatoes, peppers, and zucchini on our kitchen counter, Andrew and I decided we had better switch gears from last night’s lentil vegetable soup and make something that would highlight our garden produce.

I began by broiling two of our sweet red peppers in the toaster oven until their skins turned black.  I covered them with a bowl to steam briefly before removing the skins.

I cut up five medium-small red tomatoes from the garden and placed them in the food processor along with the roasted red peppers.  To that I added a handful of fresh sage and basil.

In a pan, I sauteed a large yellow squash with a large clove of garlic.  I added half of the yellow squash, 1/2 tsp. salt, and a generous amount of freshly ground black pepper to the food processor and pulsed until the ingredients came together.

After cooking the pasta, I combined it with the rest of the sautéed yellow squash, the sauce from the food processor, a generous drizzle of extra-virgin olive oil, and another handful of chiffonaded basil in a large serving bowl.

2 responses to “Garden pasta

  1. Looks delish!

  2. I made pasta like htis a lot in Summertime when I had the same veggies fresh from my garden: This is so good too! :) Yum!

Leave a Reply

