Vegan Coconut Milk Chocolate Mousse

Vegan coconut milk chocolate mousse has revolutionized my life.  It is delicious and so simple.

1. Put a can or two of full-fat coconut milk into the refrigerator over night or until they are needed.

2. Flip the can upside down, open it, pour liquid into a container to use later in something else.

3. Scrape solid coconut milk out of can and whisk by hand until fluffy and mousse-like (I tried it with a standing mixer and it generated too much heat.  Doing it by hand worked  better in my opinion – extra points if you chill the bowl ahead of time).

4. Add approximately 1/4 cup of unsweetened Ghirardelli cocoa powder per can of coconut milk, or to taste
1 pinch salt
A splash of vanilla extract
Sugar or other sweetener to taste
Whatever else you want to add

The first time I made this I added a little almond extract too.  When I was at the parents’ house, my Aunt Indigo had the brilliant idea to do a cinnamon and cayenne one, so we added the above ingredients and then cinnamon and cayenne pepper to taste.  It was fantastic!

Refrigerate for a bit or stick it in the freezer if you need it to chill faster.  It is also very good frozen.

This is a variation on the recipe for Chocolate Frosting Shots from the blog Chocolate-Covered Katie

7 responses to “Vegan Coconut Milk Chocolate Mousse

  1. If you are becoming a vegan. I have a lot of vegan recipes on my blog. Just check under category vegan! I also made a few vegan chocolate puddings. Two made with an avocado & banana,…etc! :) Yum!

  2. Can I use dark chocolate instead of cocoa powder in this recipe?

    • My only concern with using some sort of other chocolate is that you would have to melt it first and with this recipe, you want to try to keep it cold. You could probably do it and the finished product would just be a bit runny, but you could always mix it together and then stick it back into the refrigerator to chill. Let me know if you try it!

  3. I think you can buy dark chocolate cocoa powder, but I just made this with regular old Hershey’s Cocoa Powder and it tastes like dark chocolate. Crazy good!

Leave a Reply

