Books of 2011

This is a food blog, but I thought I’d post about one of my other passions: books.  Here is the list of books I read in 2011 with links to Amazon.  I was going to write reviews saying which ones I recommend, but I would recommend them all!

I received a Kindle for the holidays in 2010, so in 2011 I revisited a number of childhood favorites that were available for free on the Kindle.  I also read a few other out-of-copyright books that I hadn’t gotten around to reading before.

As you can see, I reread and re-listened to a lot of books.  My goal in 2012 is to read more new books, since I have a habit of always going back to ones I love.  How will I discover new books to love if I keep recycling the old ones, right?  In that spirit, I would appreciate any suggestions you have for my 2012 reading list.  Thanks!

Currently reading (Carrying over from 2011)
Piccole Donne (Little Women in Italian)

Jane Eyre (Italian Edition) – Charlotte Bronte
In those days we danced ’til dawn – Ray A Schaefer
Laughing Without an Accent: Adventures of an Iranian American, at Home and Abroad – Firoozeh Dumas
The Lord God Made Them All – James Herriot
Shadows Bright as Glass: The Remarkable Story of One Man’s Journey from Brain Trauma to Artistic Triumph – Amy Ellis Nutt
Salt: A World History – Mark Kurlansky

New books I read in 2011 (non-book club)
The Five People You Meet in Heaven – Mitch Albom
The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett
Always the Baker, Never the Bride – Sandra D. Bricker
Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life – Barbara Kingsolver
An Old-Fashioned Girl – Louisa May Alcott
Colman – Monica Furlong
Heat: An Amateur’s Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker, and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany – Bill Buford
The Princess Bride: S. Morgenstern’s Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure – William Goldman
Emily, Alone: A Novel – Stewart O’Nan
Cooking for Gracie: The Making of a Parent from Scratch – Keith Dixon
Little Women – Louisa May Alcott
The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain

Book club books I read in 2011
Middlesex: A Novel – Jeffrey Eugenides
True Love: A Practice for Awakening the Heart – Thich Nhat Hanh
No Biking in the House Without a Helmet – Melissa Fay Greene
Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal – Christopher Moore
The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down – Anne Fadiman

Books I reread/relistened to in 2011
A Wrinkle in Time – Madeleine L’Engle
Understood Betsy – Dorothy Canfield Fisher
Ender’s Game – Orson Scott Card
Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm – Kate Douglas Wiggin
In a Sunburned Country – Bill Bryson
Juniper – Monica Furlong
Wise Child – Monica Furlong
Ramayana – William Buck
Pawn of Prophecy (The Belgariad, No 1) – David Eddings
Queen of Sorcery (The Belgariad, Book 2)- David Eddings
Magician’s Gambit (The Belgariad, Book 3) – David Eddings
Castle of Wizardry (The Belgariad, Book 4) – David Eddings
Enchanters’ End Game (The Belgariad, Book 5) – David Eddings
Guardians of the West (The Malloreon, Book 1) – David Eddings
King of the Murgos (The Malloreon, Book 2) – David Eddings
Demon Lord of Karanda (The Malloreon, Book 3) – David Eddings
Sorceress of Darshiva (The Malloreon, Book 4)
The Seeress of Kell (The Malloreon, Book 5) – David Eddings
Dealing with Dragons: The Enchanted Forest Chronicles 1 – Patricia C Wrede
Searching for Dragons: The Enchanted Forest Chronicles 2 – Patricia C Wrede
The Railway Children – E. Nesbit
A Little Princess – Frances Hodgson Burnett

Sorry about the blue links!  I may need to change my theme in order to fix that.

2 responses to “Books of 2011

  1. Did you enjoy Middlesex?? I’ve tried reading it about three times and always stop by about the 4th chapter because I just can’t get into it. Should I keep trying?

    • It is slow at the beginning, but definitely picks up! I thought the book was just okay while I was reading it, but some of the parts have really stuck with me. I think it’s a good book to have other people to discuss it with, and an interesting springboard for discussing gender, race, and ethnic issues. I also learned a good deal of real history that was woven into the story. I had never read anything like it before; it’s very different from the types of books I usually read. Essentially, it’s not very high on my list of books to recommend, but I’m not sorry I read it.

Leave a Reply

